Introduction to Operations Master Roles

·         Active Directory is a Multi Master Replication System
·         There are Five Operational Roles known as “FSMO” which is stands for Flexible Single Master Operation
o   Schema Master
o   Domain Naming Master
o   RID – Relative Identifier
o   PDC Emulator
o   Infrastructure Master
·         Forest Level and Domain Level Roles
·         Schema Master – Layout or the Structure of the Data in the Active Directory Database
·         Domain Naming Master – Is used whenever add a domain to the forest or remove from the forest
·         RID Master – Responsible for allocating RID pools (SIDs)
·         PDC Emulator – Time Synchronization / most up-to-date Source
·         Infrastructure Master – Keeping changes in Object Reference consistency across domains

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *